being a writer vs being a blogger

I’ve had to think about this on more than one occasion, and it was when I worked on my web page for the Publishers Marketplace that I decided that I am a writer, not a blogger. I could have checked blogger as my primary role (or category), and this would have allowed me to put my blog posts through the Publishers Marketplace.

However, I don’t consider myself to be a blogger. I’m a writer who happens to blog. When I began blogging, I knew that I wanted my blog to be of service to others, but my blog is secondary to my novels.

Don’t get me wrong: this blog has really helped me tighten my writing skills and meet other writers. I love it for those reasons alone. I’ve also had several people compliment the blog and comment when they’ve found a particular article funny or helpful. It’s always nice to be appreciated, and I do try to reciprocate by visiting your blogs (I’m not always successful, but I do try).

Yet the majority of my free time (what precious little of it that I have) must be spent on my novels. So for me, blogging always has been and always will be secondary to writing fiction.

The question comes up again and again: should an unpublished writer blog? I would say yes. Especially for these reasons:

  • Meet other writers, published and unpublished;
  • Create the discipline to maintain a writing schedule. Post something at least once a week–more if your schedule permits;
  • If you blog about writing, you can stay abreast of the new developments in the publishing field and encourage discussion;
  • A blog is a free way to get your name on the web so that when you do decide to query, an agent can Google your name and see your web presence.

I love blogging, and I will continue for as long as I’m able. I never fail to learn something from the people who take a moment to comment. However, my novels come first. Always.

How about you? Do you consider yourself to be a blogger who writes novels or a writer who blogs?

About T. Frohock

Please visit my web site at: www.tfrohock.com
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to being a writer vs being a blogger

  1. Kelly Bryson says:

    It depends on how well the novel is going;)

    I’m a writer who blogs. I would miss my blog friends if I had to stop, but life would go on. My fingers would have to fall off for me to stop writing. But I’m pretty good with my toes, so maybe that wouldn’t be enough, either.

    Having read your work, I’m glad you’re focused on the writer bit.

  2. Blogging has enriched my life in so many ways I can’t imagine giving it up. At the same time, there is always the conflict about whether to spend time on a post or on fiction. If the fiction’s not moving forward, well, it’s a semi-valid way to procrastinate.

    Can I be non-committal? I’d like to have my cake and eat it too. 🙂

    • Jan, You most certainly can! (See, I’m a poet too.) 😉

      I love your blog posts both on the Tart and at Writer Unboxed. I hope to host your author interview here someday too so you can plug your novel on helluo librorum. 😉

      Right now, my options are limited by time demands. So when push comes to shove, I usually hit back. I’m just saying . . .

  3. Kelly Bryson says:

    Aww, another plug, Thanks!

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention being a writer vs being a blogger | helluo librorum -- Topsy.com

  5. erikamarks says:

    Without question, I’m a writer first. I still have so much to learn about blogging, I wonder how long before I consider myself a true blogger even:)?

    • It is kind of funny, Erika, I’m not sure how to gauge my success as a blogger! 😉 I have a good feel for being a writer, but a blogger? Not so much.

      The way I understand it, if you’re consistent with your posts, you’re in the club.

  6. I consider myself a writer who blogs. I’d like to be able to call myself an author who blogs at some point. 😉

  7. Hard question, no fair.
    I had to give up regular blogging, it was hard to give up, I loved the feed back. But the time constraints were killing progress on the project due to time spent on the blog.
    It has to be a balancing act, but for now the project comes first and I will blog when I have something good to give.
    What am I? Has to be a writer that blogs occasionally,
    or maybe ,
    a blogger who writes at every chance.
    As I said, no fair 🙂

    • I think you hit why blogging is so addictive, Andy, it’s the instant gratification we get from the feedback. I do miss your blog, but I’m glad you’re focused on your project now, though. 😉

  8. Kat Magendie says:

    I’m a writer first. I blog and do other social networking as a way to connect with others –since I am reclused up here in this mountain cove so much. I’m not very good at blogging – I mean, I am all over the place with my posts. I have tried to stick with some semblance of a M W F schedule with Wednesdays being “links/photos/videos” days, but other than that, I just do whatever I’m in the mood for that day!

    You do a wonderful job with your blog, T.

    • I love your blog–it’s fun and vibrant, an excellent reflection of you. As a matter of fact, it was your blog that first drew me to your writing! I don’t think I would have ever would have found you or your books if it hadn’t been for your blog. So never underestimate the power of blogging, whether for fun or for business. Thanks for stopping by, Kat!

  9. Amy Bai says:

    I’m definitely a writer who blogs — and not all that well, on occasion. 🙂 I think it’s incumbent on new writers these days to have that public face — marketing is no longer something done only by a department in a publishing house — and I’ve met great people, learned a ton, and managed more than once to solidify my own thoughts on a WIP or on my process, by blogging… but still. I’m a writer first. Always that first. I’d give up the blog in a heartbeat if I felt it wasn’t any benefit to me in the ways I’ve listed above, and I can’t say that about writing books.

    • Very nicely said, Amy: “I’d give up the blog in a heartbeat if I felt it wasn’t any benefit to me in the ways I’ve listed above, and I can’t say that about writing books.”

  10. Madigan says:

    I’m a blogger, through and through. Writers are a different kind of animal, I think.

    • This is so great! I love bloggers, especially book bloggers (MG, YA, genrek and literary). I’ve learned about a lot of great books based on reviews from book bloggers, and you’re right Madigan, it takes an entirely different mindset. Thanks so much for stopping by.

  11. I’m definitely a writer who blogs. I resisted blogging at first, worrying that it would cut into my writing time. But then I thought, “Do marathon runners sit on the couch until the day of the race? Or do they run a little bit each day to increase their abilities?” LOL

    So I like how blogging is a mental warmup for writing my books. It’s also helped me work out a variety of situations in my WIPs, and kept me committed to deadlines. I really enjoy getting to engage and interact with people who come to my blog too. Blogging can be time consuming, but so far I’ve enjoyed it, and consider it beneficial.

  12. I think the blogger/writer dichotomy is a false one. Reading a well written blog is much more worthwhile than reading a poorly written novel.

    I’m a writer who writes in many different formats, genres and venues. My goal is to be a great writer — period.

  13. Hi Teresa –
    I recently came across a post by Patrick Rhone called Writing, and The Writers Who Write About It.” He has some interesting insights as to why he thinks “bloggers” should call themselves “writers” instead. I have to admit after reading it, I simply call myself a writer. Blog or book, published or unpublished, I’m a writer. Keeps it simple that way. 🙂

    • I think this may answer both Steve and Kent:

      For me it’s more of a mind-set in how I approach the subject matter. I perceive blogging as more of a journalistic pursuit with working on short articles and publishing on a strict timetable. I certainly didn’t mean to imply that one was more worthy than the other or that bloggers are not writers in the true sense of the word. I think Donna stated it best when she described her blog as a warm-up for writing fiction.

      For me, it all boils down to where I can apply the best use of my time to achieve my goals. My goal is to produce well written and well conceived novels. Pure and simple: if a task has to fall by the wayside, it will be blog post before novel revisions.

      In that case, I’m more of a novelist, if you find that as a better description, than a blogger.

      Although I have to say, Steve, that I love that you call yourself a writer (not aspiring, etc.). That should say it all.

  14. Cher_Dawn says:

    I’m with you. I write first and spend more time on that than I do blogging. I’m rather new to this so I’m still learning how to do it effectively. Just as I’m learning about twitter and how to use it not just to connect with other writers but to make real contacts/friends with other writers. It’s ALL education and useful but it’s also easy to get lost in the social aspect of blogging/tweeting and forget why you’re there.

    • Absolutely, Cher. I have the attention span of a gnat as it is, so sometimes in order to get work accomplished, I have to remove the distractions.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment.

  15. I am still learning how to both write fiction and blog, so I guess it is a toss-up. I enjoy reading and learning from your blog; you always have such interesting posts!

  16. amanda says:

    Loved this post, Teresa! Blogging, for me, is waaaaaaaaaay in the back seat of my novel and freelance writing. I often neglect it to the point where I’m ready to “delete site,” but then many reasons (as you mentioned above) call me back. I don’t know if I’ll ever consider myself a blogger…unless I’m generously paid for it someday 😉

  17. lawrenceez says:

    A writer who blogs. For me the blogging is secondary, though important.

Comments are closed.