a birthday wish for you . . .

[tweetmeme source=”teresafrohock” alias=”http://wp.me/pr3QO-D2″ only_single=false]

Since today is my birthday, I thought I would share with you some observations I’ve culled from my years on the earth. These musings will cover everything from practical advice to information about me, so read them with care (and with tongue firmly planted in cheek).

I’ve tried to begin with the earliest lessons I learned and progress to my more recent discoveries:

  • Don’t jab sticks into holes in the ground. That’s where yellow-jackets live.
  • Razor blades will cut you.
  • It is not necessary to test every theory with a practice; therefore, when your grandmother tells you not to poke a stick in a hole, listen to her. Likewise, when your father informs you that razor blades are sharp, it’s possible he knows what he’s talking about. Mother, on the other hand, uses rampant scare tactics that generally result in some form of blindness. Test all of mother’s theories.
  • When I was twelve-years-old, I wanted to marry Bruce Lee.
  • Peter O’Toole is my all-time favorite actor. Ever.
  • My favorite movie is Dangerous Liaisons.
  • My favorite character in Dangerous Liaisons is the Marquise de Mertuil.
  • My favorite novel is The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco.
  • I am not as intelligent as I would like to think I am. Frankly, since those Aerosmith concerts back in the early eighties, I’m lucky to to have the math skills required to balance my checkbook – pre-calculus is simply asking too much from my ruptured brain.
  • Not every trend is designed for me. Therefore, I will not be acquiring multiple facial piercings and tattoos. If I do what the rest of the world is doing, then I am not expressing my individuality, rather I am another brainless sheep following the herd.
  • At one point in my misbegotten youth, I hung around the kind of people who wore tattoos. They had acquired these tattoos while serving time in prison or the military. Don’t expect me to take you seriously if you have a tattoo of Yosemite Sam on your bicep.
  • dont send me an email likethis and expect me to treat u like u r a intelligent person especially when you dont use punctuation or capital letters i will assume u r 12 yo or & i will talk down to u
  • Arcane Chinese characters tattooed across your body don’t impress me, either.
  • Young men who wear baggy pants and hold them up with one hand look girly. I don’t care what kind of profanities spew from your mouth, you look like a girl. Grow some self-esteem and quit showing me your boxer shorts. If I want to see a strange man’s bare butt, I’ll pay money to see Chippendales.
  • Basketball players should start wearing shorts again. Those things that come to your knees are NOT shorts. They’re skirts. Not everything from the seventies was bad.
  • Men like to look at beautiful women. That’s healthy and normal. Women like to look at beautiful men. I like eye-candy too. My favorite is men . . . in leather . . . on motorcycles. Otherwise, I’m not picky.
  • Eye-candy should be treated with the same reverence as a poisonous snake – look but don’t touch.
  • Forty-year-old women who go to Twilight movies and lose their minds over dewy-eyed twenty-somethings have issues I can’t even begin to address here. I’m not sure what they really need, but I would suggest a man . . . in leather . . . on a motorcycle.
  • “Lead with love” looks great on paper but is a damn sight harder to practice in real life; however, the rewards of success are immeasurable.

And finally, since it is my birthday, I get to make a wish and it is simply this:

May the God of your understanding bless and keep you; may your heart always be full and your successes many.

God bless.

About T. Frohock

Please visit my web site at: www.tfrohock.com
This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to a birthday wish for you . . .

  1. jennifer says:

    Happy Birthday!!!!
    Today is a great day – it’s my daughter’s birthday as well – she’s 4 today!
    Hope you a great one, Teresa
    🙂

    • Teresa says:

      Thanks Jennifer! And happy birthday to your little girl! I bet she’s a love and four is a very special age. I had the most fun with my daughter when she was four.

  2. kim says:

    Happy Happy Birthday to a wonderful lady!! Loves the list!!
    x0

  3. Happy birthday, Teresa!!

    You made me laugh about the Chippendales comment. Of all the scathing comments my grandmother used to utter, the worst was when she’d eye someone out on a 4-wheeler and mutter, “Damn ass-crack.”

    Oh, and sorry I’m reading about the leather fetish only now. I got you something for your FB page.

  4. Peter Cooper says:

    Happy birthday Teresa!

    What a great list. Alas, they don’t make them like Peter O’Toole anymore. Or Richard Harris, for that matter.

    Have a wonderful day. I hope you get truly spoiled!

    • Teresa says:

      Hi Peter! How nice to see you out and about again. I hope all is well with your lovely son!

      I’m so rotten, my family spoils me everyday, but yesterday was very, very nice.

  5. Kelly Bryson says:

    Happy Birthday! Note to self: do not let Teresa see hubby in leather jacket! This whole triathlon thing he’s doing has been time consuming, but the benefit is I have full access to eye-candy.

    Love the 12yo email. True.

    • Teresa says:

      My husband used to ride a motorcycle too, but the doc told him no more. In a way, I’m glad, because I always worried about him on the bloody thing.

      We get English papers that look like the 12 yo e-mail. ;-P

  6. Happy belated birthday fellow Aries! Mine was the 7th (40 no less). Hope you had a great birthday filled with beautiful men in leather on motorcycles.

    P.S. Just read Name of the Rose a couple of years ago. Brilliant. I tried Foucault’s Pendulum in my early 20’s. Hilarity ensued.

    • Teresa says:

      Well Happy Birthday back at you, Jonathan! Forty was my hard birthday; oh, how I cried at 40. Then I decided I wasn’t going to let it bother me. I hope your 40th was super. It’s a great age!

      PS: Everything after 40 has been a blast. 😉

  7. lawrenceez says:

    Sorry, I also saw this now…Happy Belated for two days ago, and congratulations on your nineteen anniversary!

Comments are closed.