Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier

[tweetmeme source=”teresafrohock” alias=”http://wp.me/pr3QO-BR” only_single=false]

booklove_normal Booklove reviews Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier at BookLove.

“Mary Anning truly was a remarkable creature.  Born in 1799, she was struck by lightning at the age of one and survived.  Living with her family in the village of Lyme Regis on the southern coast of Britain, little Mary spent many hours on the beach with her father searching for “curies” or “curiosities” which were in fact fossils of many prehistoric creatures such as ammonites, crinoids and belemnites.  To Mary and her family, “curies” were a way to put food on the table.  They collected the specimens and then sold them to the tourists who visited the coastal resort each summer.”  [Click here to read the entire review.]

About T. Frohock

Please visit my web site at: www.tfrohock.com
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Booklove and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier

  1. jenniferneri says:

    Teresa, this is your reivew, correct? If not, oh well…just disregard.

    I didn’t realize that her latest novel was out yet (maybe it’s not here in Canada, I’ll have to check). I loved Girl with a pearl earring, I loved the Unicorn one, I even like the Virgin Blue, but I was really dissapointed by Burning Bright. Did you read the others by her, and how do you dfind they compare?

    • Teresa says:

      No, I’m afraid I can’t take credit for that one. Our librarian, who reviews under the BookLove moniker, wrote this review. (For the record, I’m the Dragon.)

      I did read Girl with a Pearl Earring though, and I admire Chevalier’s ability to fictionalize situations the way she does. It’s possible to see things happening like that . . .

      Please go over and say hi to Booklove. I know she’d be delighted to hear from you.

Comments are closed.