a look ahead to 2010

Instead of a retrospective, I’d like for my last post of 2009 to look ahead to 2010. Here are some of the things I’ve decided to try in 2010:

Writing a Novel from Concept to First Draft

Beginning January 4, 2009, my Monday posts will be about writing a novel from the moment of conceptualization all the way through the first draft . I want to examine topics such as: theme, character, the initial synopsis, the difference between story and plot, prologues vs. first chapters, editing, and much more. Each week we’ll progress deeper into the techniques of writing a novel until by 2011, we’ll have a solid first draft.

Guest Posts by Authors and Editors

I hope to have a variety of guest posts this year by published authors, editors, and especially by unpublished writers, who will talk to us about how they write, editing solutions, and the techniques others are using to master the craft of writing. I believe we all have something to learn from one another.

Author Interviews

DunbarColor We’re kicking off 2010 with an interview with Robert Dunbar, author of The Pines, The Shore, and his latest work, an anthology of short stories entitled Martyrs and Monsters. Mr. Dunbar is a talented and witty gentleman, and he’ll be with us on January 11, 2010.

kat_author Kathryn Magendie is finishing her latest novel, Secret Graces, which is slated for publication this spring 2010, and Kat has already graciously offered to visit with us for an interview. I’ll be on the look-out for more authors who have something to share with us during the year, so stay tuned for author interviews at helluo librorum.

Lunch Hour Links for Writers

So far, everyone seems to enjoy the lunch hour links for writers, and I intend to continue gathering links for us. The difference in 2010 will be that lunch hour links for writers will center around a specific topic each week. I’ve noticed there are numerous blogs that are beginning to host their own round-ups of links, so I’ll gather some of those links (links to links, if you will) and post them at the bottom of my links. I’ll be previewing some of the links to links in this week’s lunch hour links for writers.

If you have some suggestions for topics you’d like to see covered on helluo librorum, please don’t hesitate to let me know, either through the comments or by contacting me. I’m so excited over the wonderful new virtual friends I’ve made in the past year, and I’m really looking forward to seeing you all again in 2010!

Happy New Year to each and everyone of you!

About T. Frohock

Please visit my web site at: www.tfrohock.com
This entry was posted in Lunch Hour Links, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.