a passion for storytelling

This one goes out to Angie Ledbetter at The Gumbo Writer for giving me my topic for this week: “Blogging or writing even when you feel like poop on a cracker.” Yeah, I can dig it. There are days when I force myself to write something even when I arrive home from work wanting to do nothing other than go straight to bed.

So why do I put myself through this? It begins with desire. I really want a career as a writer, and in order to fulfill that dream, I have to apply myself with the same diligence as anyone else who is starting a business. I set goals for myself and work to achieve those goals by applying discipline, so no matter how tired I am, I crank up my laptop and write.

Anytime I feel like slacking, I remind myself the book isn’t going to get written without a great deal of effort from me. Then I remember one of my writing instructors talking about having a passion for storytelling.

Now I am at the crux of the matter. It’s all about having a sincere passion for telling a story. You see, I don’t just want to write; anyone can strings words and sentences together in a coherent fashion and write. I want to do more. I want to give you something special, something many wonderful authors have given me in the past – a reprieve from stress, a place to go where someone else’s problems are more intense than your own, a place where you can feel safe and in control.

Open a book and fall deep into a story, so much so that you forget everything but the characters in front of you. That’s storytelling. That’s what I want to do for you. That’s the goal I keep before my eyes when I’m so tired the screen blurs before me.

Blogging? That’s the professional side of my writing, because I love communicating with other writers.

The novel? Well, that’s a little different, but if you come close and listen ever so carefully, I have a story to tell . . .

What keeps you going?

About T. Frohock

Please visit my web site at: www.tfrohock.com
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to a passion for storytelling

  1. angie says:

    Glad to inspire. LOL. The things you mention are the same reasons that keep me writing…plus, I can’t not write. I’ve tried. 🙂

    • Teresa says:

      It’s terrible sometimes to have all these thoughts and people in my head, but other times it’s such a blessing! I know what you mean about can’t not writing! 😉

  2. I’ve tried worrying and whining, but that never seems to get the story written. It’s so cool (and daunting) that the whole story is in your hands. Turning it into the story that is special is the trick, isn’t it. How many stories have you read that were missing that spark? Those that have it stick in your mind for years. Those that don’t, meh, not so much. It’s thrilling to feel that spark when you write, when you tease it from the chaff of early drafts. Thanks for the post!

    • Teresa says:

      Hi Jonathan! Worried and whining! I’ve certainly been there! I loved your comment, and I think that is what it’s all about is watching that spark emerge, but sometimes I’m just overwhelmed with the amount of responsibility that comes with telling a tale. Not just to write a story, but to hold fast to the end and polish it until it’s really finished and each character, each emotion rings true. That’s the hard part and (what I believe) adds the sparkle to the story.

  3. lawrenceez says:

    I continue to write because I feel passionate about the story. All the best with your novel.

    btw – I spoke to the person who arranged the editing report and they told me they should have it on Friday.

  4. jenniferneri says:

    Nice post, Teresa! “Blogging or writing even when you feel like poop on a cracker.” Def something I struggle with. I have been trying to find the motivation to write when I am sick, or beyond exhausted. I think the way you look at it, as an aspiring business that needs the hours put in is excellent. Sometimes I forget about that side of it, and give myself too much artistic slack.

    • Teresa says:

      Hi Jennifer! Sometimes when I’m really down, it’s the only thing that keeps me going. I love writing though, and even if it wasn’t for the “business” side of it, I think I will always continue to write.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. jenniferneri says:

    Since I began writing a few years back there has been hardly any lag time when I really just didn’t feel like writing. Yet, I recently I had what felt like weeks of that. I was so excited when I felt the need come on strong again! Perhaps it has just something to do with coming out of first trimester…
    Love reading about your passion, Teresa!

    • My wife was absolutely laid out during her first trimester. If she could have slept through it, I think she would have. It was odd seeing a normally vivacious person so lethargic. I guess that little ol’ fetus was drawing pretty hard on her body’s resources. Glad to hear that you’ve got the itch again!

    • Teresa says:

      I’m so happy for you (your pregnancy). I had the same problem, I was so terribly sick my first trimester and just didn’t feel like doing anything. I’m glad you’re feeling better and writing more often!

  6. jenniferneri says:

    Thank you Jonathan and Teresa! It always helps to know others shared a similar experience. This is my third, yet I just don’t remember it being so tiring. Perhaps we are wired that way..to forget 🙂
    Thanks again to you both and good writing!

Comments are closed.