lunch hour links for writers — 10/14/09

Basement cat recrootment

Events have slowed and the needle has moved out of my red zone, so things are back to normal here at helluo librorum. At least as normal as they ever get.

In honor of Halloween and the scary month of October, I hereby declare this month BASEMENT CAT month. This week we’re honoring Mefisto Fleas and Lucy Fur. Please say hi to Basement Cat’s recrootment team of the month. I had a nice picture of some links, but I think my honored guests mistook it for a cheezeburger . . .

While I have your attention, please look to the right where my new “official” FTC disclaimer is prominently displayed. As a side note, please remember I do accept newts and like a good American citizen, I report them on my taxes.

Now I am still working diligently on my own novel, but if I have a few minutes, I always try to visit the good writers at Audrey Shaffer’s Open Chat Wednesdays at the Writer’s Chatroom. From 8:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m. EST, you can take your questions and writing related issues to a group of vibrant writers who are encouraging and helpful about topics from plot issues to marketing your novel. I’ll miss you all for a few weeks, but know I’m thinking of you and will return as soon as possible.

On to the links:

Peter Cooper sent me this great link on outlining by Australian author Deborah Kalin where she talks about the four act novel structure that she learned from a Crusie Mayer blog. Visit Deborah so she can show you the fine art of Outlining Damselfly Style with Footnotes.

At Mots Justes, the comma series continues with Tuesday Afternoon Punctuation: Commas, Part XVII — Dates. If you have a question about commas, visit Mots Justes where Annlee is always delighted to answer your questions. She certainly solved one of my comma related issues, and I am in her debt.

Over at the BubbleCow blog, Gary Smailes believes there is a time when you can get a good critique from your friends. He gives you six tips to get the most from your friend’s critiques when he tells you How to Let Your Friends Critique Your Novel.

For those who are already published and are looking for ways to promote your novel, check out the Editorial Ass where you will find some helps and hints in the article: Your Pub Date, Minus Two Weeks.

Just in case you become published, it’s probably a good idea to know the publisher’s expectations in terms of promotion. @LizaWiemer re-tweeted this little gem from "The New Yorker" by Ellis Weiner on a letter from the promotions department to an author with Subject: Our Marketing Plan.

The new site for the Rose and Thorn Journal debuts tomorrow (October 15, 2009)! BUT you don’t have to wait a second to sign up for the their quarterly newsletter. Just go to The Rose and Thorn Newsletter to sign up! Right now! Then come back here, because . . .

Best selling author Linda Rohrbough shows you how the theme of your novel can be a selling point in her article Your Book’s Theme as a Tool.

First things first! Get your manuscript, go to Edittorrent, and start combing your novel for Alicia’s nine Marks of the Amateur – Starting List. A great post on writing errors that will make your manuscript scream amateur and how to avoid them in your story. While you’re there, please take a moment to read their Pointless FTC Disclosure Statement, which is much more detailed and funnier than mine.

Andy Shackcloth answers that burning question of what writers do with their time with his article 215 Things An Author Must Do.

Is the short story market truly dead? Alan Rinzler doesn’t seem to think so, and he tells us Why Book Publishers Love Short Stories.

As of this morning, Nathan Bransford has admitted to reading over 400 of the entries in his 3rd Sort of Annual Stupendously Ultimate First Paragraph Challenge where there are now over 1700 entries.

Peter Cooper commemorates the official mailing of his novel, The Ghost of Ping-Ling, off to Omnibus Books with his post The Silence of the Blog. I’m excited for Peter and I hope he does well!

My good friend Kelly Bryson gives an interesting Review of ‘BUY-OLOGY’ by Martin Lindstrom where she talks about marketing and writing.

Speaking of promotion and marketing, Jonathan Danz talks about what’s really important in his post Self-Promotion Just Like the Pros.

OPEN FOR SUBMISSIONS

Thanks to @thecreativepenn for tweeting that Red Blade Press is now open for dark speculative fiction short-story submissions. They are not accepting submissions for novels. According to their web site, there is a very narrow deadline for submissions:

Only submissions received between September 17th 2009 and November 30th 2009 will be considered. Any submissions received outside this timeframe will be deleted unread.

So if you have a short-story up to 7,500 words, check out the Red Blade Press.

Keep checking out The Rose and Thorn Journal. Be sure to visit them tomorrow (October 16, 2009) for the official launch of their new web site! Kat and Angie are real excited so even if you don’t submit, go have a look.

MORE NIBBLES AND LINKS

Visit Andy Shackcloth’s link treasure trove at the Sunday Wash-up where Andy posts the best links that he can find on the Internet. He has over thirty great links this week, so don’t miss the Sunday Wash-up.

What’s all this talk about FTC disclaimers? Well you can find the links on it at Pimp My Novel Friday link-fest. For those who missed it, here is last week’s post entitled Full Disclosure Fridays.

That’s it for this week, and I certainly hope I haven’t forgotten anyone, but just in case roll through the sidebar and visit a few of the folks there. I’ve added a few new links you might find interesting, and I will continue to update and add links as I wander across the Internet in search of next week’s lunch hour links for writers . . .

About T. Frohock

Please visit my web site at: www.tfrohock.com
This entry was posted in Lunch Hour Links and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to lunch hour links for writers — 10/14/09

  1. Pingback: Twitter Trackbacks for lunch hour links for writers — 10/14/09 « helluo librorum [frohock.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

  2. Kelly Bryson says:

    Thanks for the link. Where do you find the time? I’ll check out ‘things writers must do’ to see if I’m wasting my time in the wrong ways. LOL

  3. lawrenceez says:

    Thanks for posting these fascinating links.

    btw – still waiting for the editing report. I’m quickly discovering that nothing ever gets done in a hurry in the publishing world.

    • Teresa says:

      I believe my editing report took almost the entire six week turnaround time. You’re right about things moving slowly, but I’d rather see a good edit than a fast edit! 😉

Comments are closed.