lunch hour links for writers – 10/7/09

omg-iz-past-nother-ackademick-deadline I’m still under the gun on my own deadline (both for my novel and for my ackademick), but I’m pleased to say the chapters are coming a lot more smoothly now. That’s thanks to a great group of critique partners who have really helped me hone my writing style. I’ve also started sleeping with my Ethics textbook under my pillow in hopes that osmosis really does work. Just on the off chance it doesn’t, I’d better get cracking and read the next two modules! I’m still behind, but I suppose that’s better than being a behind . . .

Don’t miss Audrey Shaffer’s Open Chat Wednesdays at the Writer’s Chatroom. From 8:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m. EST, you can take your questions and writing related issues to a group of vibrant writers who are encouraging and helpful about topics from plot issues to marketing your novel. I’ll miss you all for a few weeks, but know I’m thinking of you and will return as soon as possible.

Now . . . on today’s lunch menu, which is coming out late enough to be a dinner menu today . . .

We will start this week with a tweet from @Genreville to John Howell’s post on Why Science Fiction Authors Just Can’t Win. If nothing else, read the most righteous rebuttal by the lovely and erudite Ursula K. LeGuin to a comment by Mr. Robert Weil, who seems to think that science fiction should not be considered Literary (with a capital L). Obviously, all science fiction and fantasy writers must follow the Margaret “I don’t write science fiction” Atwood model in order to be taken seriously as writers.

But persistent devils that you are, I know you’ll keep writing, so head over to Men With Pens, where the SpecialAgent tells you Five Things You Absolutely Need to Know Before You Write a Novel. Great article that summarizes skills you’ll want to develop to make yourself a better writer.

Do you need to devise a plot framework for your novel? Well say thanks to @inkyelbows who tweeted this tidbit by Hélène Boudreau in her post Plotting OCD Style. I loved this article so much I printed it out and intend to use a modified version for my second novel.

Characters, characters, characters, where would our novels be without them? No matter what genre you write, The Warrior Writers blog is ready to give you tips on Creating Legendary Characters.

Still looking for links to characterization tips? Check out Book ‘N’ A Mug where @rzstorylove is gearing up for NaNoWriMo. She has a nice set of links to other blog posts about writing good characters when she asks every writer’s burning question: Who Are These People Anyway? (She even linked back to one of my articles — *blush* *goshdarn* *shucks* . . .)

Now here is an interesting take on characterization: try writing your character’s eulogy. Check out Mots Justes for her Wednesday Writing Exercise – Eulogy, where she gives us a very interesting way to think about our characters.

@DanMcNeil888 tweeted a wonderful article on how to avoid stupid mistakes in your writing. This is another printer/keeper to prevent you from making the 11 Stupidest Writing Mistakes.

Alex Bledsoe (The Sword-Edged Blonde, Burn Me Deadly, and Blood Groove) is being interviewed at the Library Dad blog today. Scoot over and say hi at Alex Bledsoe Interview II. Alex also be making a November 9 pit-stop here at helluo librorum, so check out all the Alex Bledsoe interviews!

A federal judge has set November 9 as the deadline for submitting a revised agreement to the Google Book Settlement. Lawyers are writing overtime to bring the new settlement in line with existing antitrust legislation. To make sure the words don’t stray, Justice Department officials are now part of the negotiations. I’m sure Google is thrilled about that.

OPEN FOR SUBMISSIONS

Thanks to @thecreativepenn for tweeting that Red Blade Press is now open for dark speculative fiction short-story submissions. They are not accepting submissions for novels. According to their web site, there is a very narrow deadline for submissions:

Only submissions received between September 17th 2009 and November 30th 2009 will be considered. Any submissions received outside this timeframe will be deleted unread.

So if you have a short-story up to 7,500 words, check out the Red Blade Press.

Keep checking out The Rose and Thorn e-zine. They are open to submissions and their web page will be undergoing some changes soon! Kat and Angie are real excited so even if you don’t submit, keep peeking.

MORE NIBBLES AND LINKS

Jane Friedman at Writers’ Digest has a great article on the Writers’ Digest Best Tweets for Writers on how Twitter can be helpful to writers.

Another link treasure trove is Andy Shackcloth’s Sunday Wash-up where Andy posts the best links that he can find on the Internet. He has over thirty great links this week, so don’t miss the Sunday Wash-up.

More great links can be had at Pimp My Novel every Friday. For those who missed it, here is last week’s post entitled Rounding Up, Rounding Up the Road.

That’s it for this week, and I certainly hope I haven’t forgotten anyone, but just in case roll through the sidebar and visit a few of the folks there. I’ve added a few new links you might find interesting, and I will continue to update and add links as I wander across the Internet in search of next week’s lunch hour links for writers . . .

I hope you have a great week!

Teresa “I don’t write fantasy” Frohock

About T. Frohock

Please visit my web site at: www.tfrohock.com
This entry was posted in Lunch Hour Links and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to lunch hour links for writers – 10/7/09

  1. lawrenceez says:

    Thanks for the latest links and all the best with your writing deadlilne. The editor’s report I’m waiting for should be out tomorrow.

    • Teresa says:

      Thank you so much, Lawrence, for stopping by! I can’t wait to hear what your editor has to say. I’ll be popping over to your blog early next week to see the results. I’ve learned something from every edit I’ve received, and by implementing the suggestions from my critique group and my professional edit, my chapters are coming out more polished a lot faster.

  2. Kelly Bryson says:

    I read the article on OCD organization, and made a document map. Just being able to flip from chapter to chapter is a very nice thing. I’m not sure how to add the plot elements she was talking about w/o adding them to the manuscript, though. I did an outline on paper a while back, and I refer to it as needed. Thanks for the help. I’m still figuring out cool stuff on the computer.

    • Teresa says:

      I’ve tried it, because I wanted something that would give me a way to chronicle the major plot points of the narrative. I like it. 😉

Comments are closed.