more adult fantasy novels, please

Okay, we had a thoughtful discussion last night on the dearth of adult fantasy novels. Here are some recommendations for novels that came from that discussion:

Jonathan recommended R. Scott Bakker’s The Prince of Nothing series:

Prince of nothing bk1

The Darkness That Comes Before – Book 1

The Warrior Prophet – Book 2

The Thousandfold Thought – Book 3

 

 

Peter Cooper recommended some of his choices from the Land Down Under:

Shadow Queen by Deborah Kalin

Worldshaker by Richard Harland (this is being marketed as YA, but according to the web site, it’s supposed to appeal to adults, too. I’ll take Peter’s word on it.)

Wounded Guardian by Duncan Lay

None of these titles are available in the United States yet, but I checked Amazon and you can pre-order Worldshaker, if you like.

The Rune Lords bk1

Kelly recommend the Runelords series by David Farland, which begins with The Sum of All Men.

Teresa (that’s me and you’re already here, so a link would be redundant)recommends:

Sword Edged Blonde

 

The Sword-Edged Blonde by Alex Bledsoe

  Burn Me Deadly HC

 

Burn Me Deadly by Alex Bledsoe

(coming November 10, 2009)

 

Twelve Also look into Twelve by Jasper Kent. I reviewed Twelve at Booklove, and while I found there were a few plot issues, overall the novel was satisfying. I loved the idea of historical fiction with a supernatural twist. I’d be interested in hearing what other folks think about the book.

 

If you’re looking for a good review site, check out Speculative Horizons a UK based book review blog. James Long does a wonderful job reviewing new speculative fiction; I picked up on his recommendation for Twelve and was not disappointed.

If you would like to read the discussions that spawned these titles, head over to the post to agents and publishers: right here at helluo librorum.

If you have more recommendations for adult fantasy reading, post them here or under the previous post! We’re looking for good stuff to read . . .

About T. Frohock

Please visit my web site at: www.tfrohock.com
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books, Speculative Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to more adult fantasy novels, please

  1. mgkizzia says:

    You might try C. S. Lewis and Tolkien’s friend, Charles Williams, if you can find any of his books in print. The Place of the Lion, Descent into Hell, War in Heaven, The Greater Trumps, All Hallows’ Eve, Many Dimensions, Shadows of Ecstasy. Both Tolkien and Lewis thought Williams was the best writer among them which I take as rather high praise.
    -Michael

    • Teresa says:

      Thank you, Michael, I will certainly look into all of Williams’ novels. You can still find them in print so I will be ordering a copy! We’re also looking for new authors, so if you have any suggestions along those lines, we’d love to hear about them, too!

      I hope you’ll stop by and visit again.

  2. Jonathan Danz says:

    Teresa,
    I posted that recommendation because I think of the R. Scott Bakker series as an adult series worth reading. That was BEFORE Kelly posted that she is not a fan of graphic sex or violence. There IS graphic sex (probably violence, too, depending on your perspective) in the book–it is relevant to the plot, but probably not everyone’s cup of tea.

    Check out this link for some reviews http://tinyurl.com/n6bouh.

    I apologize for the mix-up. Hopefully Kelly didn’t run out and order the books. I still think they are worth the read and still recommend them with the caveat that they are not always pretty.

  3. Peter says:

    What a great round up, Teresa! thanks for your hard work in putting that list together.

    I was in two minds about including Worldshaker because it is generally marketed as YA, though its in the adult section of my local bookshop and it has some fairly adult themes – I think the line between YA and adult fantasy is sometimes a bit blurred.

    There’s some good suggestions on this list, I’ll be looking up a few of them as soon as I finish Wounded Guardian.

    Thanks again!

    P.

    • Teresa says:

      Hi Peter, I added Worldshaker, because after reading the blurb on the web site, I realized it sounded a lot like The Golden Compass. Oddly enough, The Golden Compass was written for adults, but the young adult market really latched on to it, too. Sometimes, you just can’t tell and so many novels do blur the line between young adult and adult, I think Worldshaker is a good add.

  4. Kelly Bryson says:

    Jonathan- thanks for the clarification:)
    Teresa, I’ve been of two minds about my WIP- my main characters are adults, but the MC is trying to find her place, and the story focuses on her emotional maturity…And it is a story of first love, which is def kind of YA, but the guy is on the rebound and very career-oriented, which is adult. Maybe I’ll get both markets, assuming the stars align, the waters part, etc.

    • Teresa says:

      Kelly, for your novel, I would pick the paranormal romance market and not try to pigeon-hole yourself in the YA or adult market. Paranormal romance has a tendency to appeal to late teens and up, so maybe the stars will align and the waters will part . . . 😉

Comments are closed.