musings – devils & demons

I’ve been doing quite a bit of research into exorcisms and Renaissance demonology for my work in progress, An Autumn Tale. A few people have inquired into my own belief system involving Christianity and Demonology. I suppose it’s a fair question; however, it’s the type of question that requires a certain amount of finesse in the answer.

Personally, I am a great adherent of the philosophy of C. S. Lewis. I believe he summed the whole devil/demon issue quite nicely when he said:

angelvsdemon “There are two equal and opposite errors into which our race can fall about the devils. One is to disbelieve in their existence. The other is to believe, and to feel an excessive and unhealthy interest in them. They themselves are equally pleased by both errors and hail a materialist or magician with the same delight.” 

The Screwtape Letters, C.S. Lewis

About T. Frohock

Please visit my web site at: www.tfrohock.com
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to musings – devils & demons

  1. katmagendie says:

    I have no idea what I believe anymore – but I do know there are opposing forces in nature and in life

    • Teresa says:

      I think everyone believes in something. I also like to think that a person’s religion is more about spirituality rather than doctrine.

      However, I’ve just seen too much to not believe in some form of evil prowling the outskirts of our reality. But hey, that’s just me. 😉

  2. kaykaybe says:

    It is interesting to me that many people I’ve met who pray and claim a relationship to God have little awareness of the opposite influence.
    The way I look at it is: peace, love, mercy etc. are the spiritual fruits of the Holy Ghost. Doubt, fear, and despair are the fruits of evil spirits.
    Just read a christian fiction book that touched on some of this and was suprisingly good- ‘The Restorer’ by Sharon Hinck.

  3. jenniferneri says:

    ARe you speaking with any experts, or are you doing read only?

    I ask, because I have been trying to speak with a world war one historian, and am getting nowhere. I have some questions that books can’t answer.

    • Teresa says:

      Right now I’m doing research the old fashioned way with books and journal articles. Libraries have such great access to so many wonderful resources I never find myself wanting for information.

      On your WWI historian, try asking other historians. With e-mail, it’s possible to contact anyone, anywhere and you will eventually find someone willing to answer your questions. There’s tons of great books on WWI, too. I’ve read quite extensively on WWII and a little on WWI. E-mail me your question and I’ll see if I can point you toward something that might help you.

Comments are closed.