research and characterization

We all want believable characters in both what we read and what we write, there is no question about that. It doesn’t matter how wonderful your plot may be, without believable characters your novel will fall flat with the majority of readers. A story is about a person’s emotional journey, and the plot is merely the physical journey the protagonist takes to reach their destination.

So how does a writer reach into their characters for emotional depth?

All writers should be good actors. It is vital that you be able to place yourself in your characters’ minds so you can feel what they feel, see what they see. Ask any good actor how they perfect their roles and the first word out of their mouth will be research.

So let’s apply the actor’s character study to writing. Most writers are familiar with the character sketch of occupation, hair color, eye color, etc. These are all superficial qualities that are necessary, but don’t actually give you the emotional make-up of your character. So in addition to the standard character sketch, I would suggest a great tool to use is one that Andy Shackcloth presented in his post Writing Characters Using the Proust Questionnaire.

Now that you have all the information, what do you do with it?

This is where your research comes in. Let’s say your character is a woman who was sexually abused as a child, but you, the writer, was raised in a stable loving home. How do you find that emotional connection with your character so that you feel what they feel? You will need to get your hands on books and articles on psychology, abused children, memoirs by abused children so you can completely immerse yourself into the mindset of an abused woman.

Imagine what a day in her life would be like, not the superficial stimulants, but what will her thoughts be as she goes through her day. This doesn’t have to be a scene from your novel; create a past for her and watch it in your mind like a movie. What does she feel when someone looks at her? How does she deal with the trauma from her past and how does this affect her interactions with other people? Does her trauma make her overly submissive or overly aggressive? How do her actions reflect these emotions?

Is that difficult? Yes. It can also be painful, but the more you read and learn about your character’s personality type, the more alive that character will become first to you, then to your readers.

It’s not enough to know eye and hair color, you also need to know how that character will speak and think. When I was doing my research for Lucian, I read writings from the Apostolic Fathers, because I wanted a certain speech pattern that reflected the era in which Lucian lived. I read any article I could find about twins and twin relationships, and I read books and articles that analyzed the thinking patterns of people who lived in abusive relationships. When I worked on Catarina, I had to shift mental gears and learn about abusers and their personalities.

Now I have a deeper picture of my characters than simply eye and hair color. Before I actually sit down to write a scene or chapter, I imagine the entire scene as if it was a movie, but I am the actor portraying Lucian (or whichever character’s point of view I happen to be using for that scene). I imagine myself in that character’s body and I try to act and react the same as that person would.

Only after I have a firm picture in my mind of how the character will think and act do I actually begin to write. First I set the stage by writing the setting, then I set my actors into place and write their emotional responses. As I go through the scene, I already have in mind the memories and emotional responses I want my characters to have, so then I’m left with the hard task of making those memories and emotional responses seem real. That simply takes practice.

It is a lengthy process, but it’s all well worth the effort when you finish a scene and someone says that it felt real. That’s how I construct my characters, but I’d be very interested to hear how anyone else constructs their characters. I think everyone employs a different technique, and I am always delighted to learn new ways into my characters’ thoughts.

A few good articles I’ve found while browsing the net are:

Creating Believable Characters: The Art of Breathing Life Into a Story By Skillful Characterization by Debbie Roome

Handling a Cast of Thousands Part I Getting to Know Your Characters by Will Greenway

Seven Common Character Types by Terry W. Ervin II

Web Resources for Developing Characters by Greg Knollenberg

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

About T. Frohock

Please visit my web site at: www.tfrohock.com
This entry was posted in Characters, notes on writing, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to research and characterization

  1. andyshack says:

    I followed the link back and found this brilliant post. I must admit to not having dived in as deep as you have, which I now think is a major error on my part.

    Just want to say thanks for a great post and for the link.

    • Teresa says:

      Thanks, Andy! It’s so nice to see you about. 😉

      I used to love acting when I was in high school and wanted to become an actress. The stage will always be my first love, but I’ve found so many acting techniques to be so useful in writing, too.

      Have a wonderful week!
      Teresa

  2. kaykaybe says:

    I naturally put myself in my character’s shoes and watch the movie. It’s good in some ways, but I have one character who is a cranky, bitter, controlling man, and when I work on his chapters, watch out kids and hubby! I try to keep myself in line, but it really sucks me into a negative thought pattern. It seems so silly, but it really happens.

    • Teresa says:

      Kelly, it doesn’t seem silly at all! I once read an interview with Alice Walker where she described how difficult she had been to live with when she had written a very painful novel.

      Thanks for sharing that!
      Teresa

  3. jenniferneri says:

    Great post, Teresa!
    I f I am repeating myself, I apologize. Once I began writing I thought I needed a psychology degree!

    I think that as writers, we need to be empathetic – if that is lacking I think it is felt in the writing, no matter how well crafted.

  4. Teresa says:

    Hi, Jennifer! We do have to be one part psychologist, one part actor, and 100% writer! It’s a tough combination to pull off! 😉

  5. Pingback: Sunday Wash-Up 16th August « Shack's Comings and Goings

Comments are closed.