Booklove seeks reviewers

Booklove2

What is Booklove? Booklove is a blog that reviews books and is associated with the Gerald B. James Library. I have had the good fortune to be reviewing books for Booklove since it went online where I review as the Book Dragon.

I’ve also found Booklove to be a great place to connect with other writers. I met Kathryn Magendie through Booklove where she was a regular visitor before her novel, Tender Graces, was published. Ken Bruen commented on my review of his novel, Priest. I was so excited that I picked up the phone book and started randomly calling people to tell them that Ken Bruen read my review!

Ken Bruen wasn’t the only author to visit us. So far, the following authors have commented on their Booklove reviews for these titles:

Mistress of the Sun by Sandra Gulland (reviewed by booklove)

Priest by Ken Bruen (reviewed by Book Dragon)

Prisoner of Tehran by Marina Nemat (reviewed by booklove)

Tender Graces by Kathryn Magendie (reviewed by Book Dragon)

The Witch’s Trinity by Erika Mailman (reviewed by booklove)

When writing for Booklove we ask that you choose a username for yourself other than your real name (for example, I write reviews as the Book Dragon and the librarian who oversees the site writes as booklove) and pick an avatar that doesn’t have your picture on it. If you want to shamelessly promote your reviews by coming out of the closet and providing links on your blog (like I do), then that’s fine.

You don’t have to review twenty books a year or even twelve books a year. Since the first of the year, I’ve contributed ten reviews, and I’ve read more than ten books since January. If you only contribute four or five reviews a year, that’s fine. We’re not looking for quantity, but quality.

I don’t review every book I read, and I don’t read to review for Booklove. You can review fiction or non-fiction in any or all genres, where ever your interests lie. No erotica, please, we don’t want to acquire a mature rating. We currently have a policy of not reviewing self-published books. This may change in the future, but for now, the librarian who oversees Booklove and I both are simply buried with “to read” lists of published materials.

Will reviewing for Booklove result in a publishing contract or immediate friendship with another author? No. What it will do is give you an opportunity to expand your writing resume. In order to review for Booklove you must submit a sample review. As I said earlier, this site is associated with the James Library, and the librarian in charge of Booklove wishes to maintain a quality review site.

Don’t be intimidated by “quality review site.” Reviews should be grammatically correct and well written. All those things we’re trying to do for our novels.

Booklove is set up to be a friendly blog where people who enjoy reading can share their thoughts about the books they read. People will comment on your reviews and sometimes they will disagree with you. If you choose to reply to negative comments, we ask that you be professional and considerate of other people’s opinions.

I’ve really enjoyed reviewing books for Booklove. I’ve learned a lot about writing techniques by explaining to others what I found appealing or unappealing about a certain book. I’ve also had a great deal of fun developing a persona for the Book Dragon. Although I write under a pseudonym, I never say anything as the Book Dragon that I would not say as Teresa.

So! What now? If you’re interested in joining us at Booklove, you can either click on Contact Me in the sidebar or e-mail me at frohockt AT bellsouth DOT net (insert proper symbols for AT and DOT and close the spaces, please, trying to fool spambots, you know). Regardless of which manner you use to contact me, please leave me a short note along with a sample review pasted into the body of the e-mail and don’t forget to include your e-mail address and name. I’ll pass the review along to our librarian and one of us will get back in touch with you.

I’m looking forward to hearing from you and (as the Book Dragon would say . . . hehe) Happy Reading!

Copyright 2009 Teresa Frohock

About T. Frohock

Please visit my web site at: www.tfrohock.com
This entry was posted in Booklove and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Booklove seeks reviewers

  1. jenniferneri says:

    would you suggest a word count – would be something I would be interested in!

Comments are closed.