on not giving up

I want you imagine me, tall and lanky, dancing in a circle and gibbering like a madwoman in absolute GLEE. You’re right, that is an ugly picture, but it’s apropos to how I feel right now.

Why?

Remember my twelve-year-old character that has been causing me to suffer multiple conniptions? Well I’ve finally got her. Here’s how it happened:

I know I’ve talked about character sketches endlessly, and I think that they are valuable tools. I pour over them when I’m unable to connect with my characters during an important scene. However, with Lindsay I was never able to manufacture much more than the barest sketch of her character. She remained an enigma to me no matter how hard I tried. I had a twelve-year-old caricature where I wanted a flesh and blood believable character.

The character sketch wasn’t working, so I decided to write around her for a while. I wrote chapter two, and I have the action in addition to a glimmer of her inner self, but it was very uncomfortable for me to write from her point of view. She came through brilliantly when I was writing from Lucian’s point of view, but when it came time to write my next chapter from Lindsay’s point of view, I foundered. I wrote the chapter anyway, hoping that at some point, Lindsay would show me a glimmer of her inner self.

I hated the entire chapter. It wasn’t working and I couldn’t figure out why. In mad desperation, I threw the chapter out to my OWW critique group and it came back mangled and maimed. I printed all their suggestions, re-worked the chapter and decided to run the new version by two OWW members via e-mail before I re-submitted it to the entire OWW group. One of these gracious ladies sent me back a detailed critique and it was with her critique that I unearthed Lindsay.

There was one line that I had thrown into the paragraph almost as an afterthought. All right, I was grasping at straws. The line is: He sounded like her dad after he finished the fourth beer that always signaled the inevitable fight between her parents. And my OWW critiquer said that Lindsay’s behavior toward Lucian did not reflect the behavior of a child of an alcoholic.

Huh?

I didn’t say Lindsay was the child of an alcoholic. It never occurred to me that her father might be a functioning alcoholic. But it worked. It worked splendidly! Suddenly this child is alive before my eyes, and I can anticipate her thoughts, how she’s going to act and react to her situations and the people around her.

Always start with a character sketch. I hate having to write my way into a character like I had to do with Lindsay because it is so time consuming. However, writers shouldn’t become so locked into one methodology that they disregard all others. Writers have numerous tools and I believe it’s important to be flexible enough to use them all. Of course, in this case, this magic ah-ha moment came from someone else’s insight. I can’t wait to hear from my other OWW critiquer, because I’m sure I’ll be able to weave her suggestions into Lindsay’s character as well.

Tomorrow I start the re-writes on chapter seven and there I’m sure I’ll find a whole host of issues awaiting me. But just for today, I can gibber and I dance like a wild-woman (hehe).

Copyright 2009 Teresa Frohock

About T. Frohock

Please visit my web site at: www.tfrohock.com
This entry was posted in Characters, editing, notes on writing, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to on not giving up

  1. Stephanie says:

    *smiles* Congratulations. May Lindsay continue to unveil herself so beautifully.

  2. Teresa says:

    Thank you, Stephanie. I always get so excited when I managed to find that breakthrough moment with one of my characters. 😉

  3. jenniferneri says:

    Sounds like you’re having fun! It is exciting to see what lays in waiting – one of the things that keeps me longing to get back to the laptop and write 🙂

    • Teresa says:

      I think you’re right, Jennifer, it’s the excitement of discovery. I have an outline and a plan, but sometimes the characters sweep me away and surprise me in new and wonderful ways. This was one of those times. 😉

  4. Jonathan Danz says:

    I love that there are different ways to get to the same point. I’ll do my best to remember that when my my head’s down, bumping into the same wall over and over.

    • Teresa says:

      I think it happens to all writers at one point or another. I was lucky to have an alert member of my critique group pounce on that one. I’d still be flailing away on it if I was working alone.

  5. kaykaybe says:

    Teresa- that’s fantastic. I love those moments. When you realize what will make it all come together, it’s magic. Actually writing it can be a little time-consuming, but it’s a wonderful feeling. I think I’m addicted to ‘creating’: band-I played french horn into college, writing, drawing, ceramics, lampworking (glass beads), sewing (I have a couch to recover once I finish this draft)- for me, creation is necessary to life, because it is joy.

    • Teresa says:

      Hi Kelly,

      I wish I was creative at something other than writing. Well, I did take some pottery classes a few years ago and had a few good pieces. There were some of my pots that people actually looked at and said, “Oh! You made that?” instead of “Oh, so you made that.”

      I love painting rooms and restoring my old farmhouse one room at a time. That’s been fun and time consuming! I also like to grow things, but I still commit accidental herbicide occasionally.

      Thanks for stopping by and thank you for all your help with this difficult chapter. I’m going to go through your edits now. 😉

  6. kaykaybe says:

    Teresa- just a disclaimer- I didn’t say I was any good at those things. I’m not a great musician. Not a great artist (doubt I’ll design my book cover!). Hopefully a better writer- or at least getting better. I just have to have something I’m working on, and even if I’m average, I still love the process. Renovating is fun too, but I think I’ve exhausted that particular vein. Thanks!

Comments are closed.