how to punctuate

How to punctuate

How to Punctuate by George Davidson (ISBN 0141021594) is a great little reference book for any writer to keep by their side.  Succinct and easy to search, this book covers everything from commas (my bugaboo) to sentence structure.

Mine is already dog-eared and marked.  😉

Copyright 2009 Teresa Frohock

About T. Frohock

Please visit my web site at: www.tfrohock.com
This entry was posted in Books, notes on writing, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to how to punctuate

  1. uninvoked says:

    Sounds great, now is it organized so you can jump to exactly what you need? Or do you have to read the whole book and hope you rememmber the piece you were looking for?

    • Teresa says:

      Hi Uninvoked!

      It’s separated into chapters entitled: Sentences and non-sentences, Full stops, Question marks, Commas, etc. Then each chapter has sub-headings. For example in the chapter on Question marks, the first sub-heading is for The Basic Rule. From there, I use my own tabbing system with removable flags that I can write on. I like the way the book always gives an example so you can see how to use the punctuation. On the sub-heading Knock-off Effects in the chapter on commas, the example is:

      “Incorrect: I like chilies, the hotter, the better.
      Correct: I like chilies, the hotter the better.”

      There will be places where you will have to read a bit to find the information you’re looking for, but the entries are so brief, it’s very easy to scan.

      I’m like you and I don’t want to spend a half-hour looking for a quick answer. That’s why this little book has appealed to me. It’s been very easy for me to use. I was agonizing over whether I should put a comma between “heavy” and “black” when describing Lucian’s hair. The answer is no, and I was able to find a reference to this exact dilemma very quickly with How To Punctuate.

Comments are closed.