Booklove

If you are a writer looking to hone your craft, Booklove is offering an opportunity to participate in the Booklove blog. Devoted to book reviews and encouraging a book club atmosphere, Booklove is becoming a very popular blog for people seeking book reviews and discussions about a variety of titles, fiction and non-fiction.

I’ve been a guest reviewer for Booklove for just over a year now, and I’ve found it to be a very enjoyable experience. The discussions are fun, and reviewing books gives me a much deeper understanding of plot and characterization that I can apply to my own writing.

Interested in contributing reviews to BookLove? Go to the link and leave a message. A sample review will be required before adding you to the crew.

Copyright 2009 Teresa Frohock

About T. Frohock

Please visit my web site at: www.tfrohock.com
This entry was posted in Booklove, Books, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Booklove

  1. uninvoked says:

    Oooh, sounds exciting. I might do that for a book I read very recently, “Gamer Girl”. It was the only YA book from the library, out of four, to get read all the way through. Really, someone ought to tell writers that YA does not mean “they’re kids so they won’t notice if I screw up” >.<

    • Teresa says:

      Hello, uninvoked! Thanks for stopping visiting.

      Give it a shot, it’s addictive. 😉

      Although I don’t normally read YA, I have reviewed a couple for Booklove.

      Reading a book and talking about it is one thing, but actually sitting down and thinking about what made a book good or bad forces me to analyze the writing. It’s really helped me improve my writing. Give Booklove a click and browse through some of the reviews, but most of all, have fun!

  2. uninvoked says:

    I analyze writing so much as it is though. Take the Warrior series. The medicine cat tells one of the warriors to go roll in a garlic patch just to be safe. Only problem? Garlic, as well as all members of the lilly family, are extremely toxic to cats.

    That’s one of many errors that shows a glaring lack of research. They’re basically humans with cat suits on. -.-

    • Teresa says:

      Hello again Univoked,

      You picked up on a very good point. We all suspend a certain amount of belief when we read fiction, but when a fact like the cat rolling in garlic is distorted and the author gives no reason for it, we pull up short. I’ve just reviewed the Dan Brown novel, Angels and Demons, for Booklove and there was so much misinformation and unbelievable situations that I was distracted from the story. I believe it’s all right for writers to ask their readers to suspend belief, but please don’t ask us to suspend reason!

      I can tell you that reading books and examining how a good story-line is created or how backstory is woven into a tale really has helped me as a writer. Likewise, reading bad books helps me know what NOT to do.

      Good luck with your own novel, Uninvoked. I hope some of my readers will go your way and have a peek. I think you’re incredibly brave to post your entire book online! 😉

  3. uninvoked says:

    Ugh, don’t get me started on Dan Brown. I love his plots, but the way he writes makes me think he assumes all readers are stupid. Even the beloved Da Vinci code had an awful, obvious history error that anyone with a World History class under their belt would have noticed. I’m not talking a biblical error either. >_>

    If you want to see an example of beautiful writing, try Nora Robert’s Key serties. (Key of Light, Key of Knowledge, Key of Valor) I’m not a romance person, but I was so captivated by her writing skills in those books I bought several others of hers. They were all disappointing in comparison, but the point remains…this series is beautiful.

    Thank you for your kind wishes on Uninvoked. 🙂 Its been an interesting ride so far, and I’m thrilled by the number of comments, reviews, and readers that have been pouring in.

    • Teresa says:

      Dan Brown is an excellent example of how good marketing can promote bad writing. I found out that his wife’s career is in marketing and that explains a lot.

      Hmmm, now that might be a good subject for a post . . .

Comments are closed.