lunch hour links for writers – 12/30/09

Prior to 2009 I had never attempted blogging, so this year was an opportunity for me to find my niche and see what types of posts people would like to read. I’ve found the experience to be rewarding on multiple levels – from the wonderful authors I’ve had to opportunity to meet to the new virtual friends I made in 2009. So my last lunch hour links for writers of 2009 will be a salute to those who have helped me with their advice and virtual friendship.

A Thank You to All My New Online Friends

Before I thank a single individual, I must first thank the lovely and kind author of Uninvoked, who chooses to remain anonymous. This special person was the first to comment on helluo librorum about wanting to see more posts on the subject of writing. Uninvoked is the name of the novel this anonymous author has written and posted online, and I am most grateful to Uninvoked’s author for the valuable advice.

Kathryn Magendie. My gratitude goes to the lovely Kathryn Magendie, author of Tender Graces. Kathryn always makes time for novice writers and treats all writers she encounters with dignity and respect. I am so glad that Kathryn was my first encounter with an author online, because she helped make me brave with her graciousness.

Lisa Mannetti. Kathryn introduced me to the fabulous Lisa Mannetti, another author with class. Kathryn posted on her Facebook page that Lisa had won the Bram Stoker award for her novel The Gentling Box. When I contacted Lisa for an interview, she not only gave me one hundred percent on the interview, she also made many suggestions that helped make that and subsequent interviews on helluo librorum a success.

Audrey Shaffer. Lisa told me about Audrey Shaffer, who runs the dynamic Writer’s Chatroom. The Writer’s Chatroom is moderated and open for an open chat on Wednesday nights from 8:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m. EST and on Sunday evenings with open chats with authors from around the world. The Writer’s Chatroom was listed as one of Writer’s Digest’s 2009 “101 Best Sites for Writers.” It is a great place to go and get advice and support from fellow writers.

Alex Bledsoe. This was a happy accident. I received a tweet on Twitter about a chance to win a free book, and all I had to do was write a post about my favorite literary dragon. I figured I had nothing to lose and won two novels by Alex Bledsoe, The Sword-Edged Blonde and an ARC of Burn Me Deadly.

I started Burn Me Deadly first, read the first two pages and had to put the book down in disbelief. It was the first fantasy I’d picked up in years didn’t cater to the young adult market. The theme and writing was mature and dark, something I’d greatly missed from fantasies, and as a great fan of mysteries, I loved the entire concept of the Eddie LaCrosse series. Needless to say I am hooked and purchased my own copy of his vampire novel Blood Groove.

Alex graciously did an interview for helluo librorum and shared some of his writing techniques with us. I’ve really enjoyed meeting Alex, and I’m so glad that I took a chance and entered his contest.

Stephanie Wright. Here is another happy accident. I made a comment on a blog post that resonated with Stephanie and after exchanging a few e-mails, I got the opportunity to know this lovely lady. She introduced me to the enchanting art of Senryu through her beautiful site, and she is also a vocal champion against violence in the home and a co-author of the book Elephants in the Closet: Understanding Violence in the Home.

Liza Wiemer. While most people pull their children inside when I walk by, brave Liza actually asked me to a guest post for young adults for her WhoRuBlog. I was both intimidated and honored by the experience. So I must say thank you to Liza for being so gracious as to ask me to write the post. It was a lot of fun.

Very Special Thanks Goes to These Blogging Friends

Kelly Bryson. Kelly and I hooked up on OWW when we started critiquing one another’s novels, and somehow through various e-mail exchanges, we morphed into friends. Kelly has been my most stalwart friend and fan, and many times when I’ve sighed and thought about quitting, she’s urged me on to the next chapter. I can only hope that I’ve been half as valuable to her as she has been to me in 2009, and I hope we’ll still be hanging together at the end of 2010!

Peter Cooper. Another OWW member, who I had the opportunity to get to know through blog posts and critiques. Peter’s critiques have been insightful and his blog posts range from serious to laugh out loud funny. He’s a charming gent and a proud Aussie to the bone. Cheers, Peter!

Jonathan Danz. If I’m not mistaken, Jonathan and I started blogging about the same time, and I’m not sure who stumbled upon whom first, but it’s irrelevant. I’ve really enjoyed watching Jonathan’s blog grow, and his posts become more insightful by the day. He finds the greatest links to tweet and has his own fascinating novel that he is currently working on.

Lawrence. Or as he’s listed in my links, LawrenceEz. Lawrence is a regular here at helluo librorum, and he is working on his own psychological thriller. Thanks for hanging out with us, Lawrence.

Jennifer Neri. Jennifer is an eloquent writer, who blogs about her writing and has a lot of great comments on every post she writes. If you’re looking for a writing community, go over and visit Jennifer.

David at Jordanfel’s Blog. David has been incredibly helpful in giving me bibliographies for An Autumn Tale along with sound advice. Thank you, David, for both your time and your experience.

I want to thank my OWW friends who don’t have blogs, but who have faithfully followed An Autumn Tale from beginning to end with insightful critiques and valuable input: J.R., Valerie, Kimberly, and Liz. You guys are the greatest.

links to links

Andy Shackcloth. The honored spot in links to links will always go to my good friend over the sunny pond, Andy Shackcloth. I can’t recall if I found his post on using the Proust Questionnaire for characterization before he found my post on characterization, but we both agree, the characters make the novel. Andy not only writes insightful posts of his own, but is constantly gathering the best links for his Sunday Wash-up.

Jane Friedman at Writers’ Digest has the Writers’ Digest Best Tweets for Writers. Great advice and posts all in one convenient place.

Over at Pimp My Novel, you’ll find news from the publishing industry, so check out French Fry Friday for news and links.

new links to links

Beginning, well now actually, I’m adding a couple of new links to my weekly round-up.

Nathan Bransford. I would hope that most of you read Nathan’s blog and site on a weekly basis anyway, but just in case you miss it, I’m going to start including Nathan’s weekly round-up in my own links to links. If you want to know what’s going on in the publishing industry, Nathan is the man you want to watch. Once a week, he does his own week in publishing. On December 18, he did a write-up for This Year in Publishing.

Jessica Rosen runs a Friday Forum that I’ve been wanting to add for some time; now she’s here (as well as at Andy’s weekly round-up of links). Check out Jessica’s Friday Forum: Grab Their Attention for some great links on those pesky first paragraphs, pages, and chapters.

And that is it for 2009! I hope each and everyone of you have a safe and happy New Year. The best to all of you in 2010!

About Teresa Frohock

Please visit my web site at: www.teresafrohock.com
This entry was posted in Lunch Hour Links and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to lunch hour links for writers – 12/30/09

  1. Peter Cooper says:

    Thanks for that, Theresa!

    It’s certainly been a fun year. I’ve really enjoyed reading this and the other great writer’s blogs I’ve discovered throughout the year, as well as being part of OWW. The latter has occasionally been painful, but like a trip to the dentist, it’s been well worth it.

    I wish you all the best in the coming year, and thanks for all your help and encouragement. (I also owe you a crit on OWW – sorry to be so slack, I’ll get to it in the next few days :-))

    Happy New Year to you and all!

    Peter.

  2. Peter Cooper says:

    I also can’t believe I spelled your name wrongly for the first time ever …. ;-)

    • Teresa says:

      Don’t worry over the name. I’ve seen it spelled all kinds of ways. ;-)

      On crits and such, take your time, I know it’s the holidays and it’s even harder for all us to get to those things we want to do for things we must do. I’ve got two outstanding crits to do myself, but Christmas and New Year’s has taken my time. I’ve been working to get ahead on blog posts so I’ll have more crit time. ;-)

      You have a wonderful New Year and I’m really looking forward to your next submission!

  3. lawrenceez says:

    Hi Teresa,

    Thanks very much for mentioning me on your blog. It’s quite an honour.

    Like you, I have only been blogging since 2009. Can’t imagine how I coped before discovering blogging and the wonderful software WordPress!

    Have a great 2010.

    I’ve revised just over a quarter of the novel and am enjoying it.

  4. Kelly Bryson says:

    I’m reading the blogs I didn’t get to while I was on Christmas break, and I’m so glad I did! You’re the best Teresa! We’ll have to meet in person this year! And any encouragment I’ve given you has been a threadbare repayment for your support. It has truly been a highlight of this past year to make such a good friend. Does that feel like a eulogy yet? Thanks for being such a good friend and introducing me via the blog and facebook to so many wonderful writer-people. -Kelly

  5. jenniferneri says:

    Thank you, Teresa! I have enjoyed your site tremendously as well! You are full of information that you share so freely. A true breath of fresh air (excuse the cliche). Have a great New Year.

    • Teresa says:

      Hi Jennifer! It’s always a pleasure to have you stop by and visit. I hope you’re doing well, and please know that even though I don’t get to comment as often as I like, I do visit your blog often!

Comments are closed.