lunch hour links for writers – 11/18/09

Well I missed my lunch hour links deadline last week, I simply had one of those “perfect storms” where there was more to be done than hours in the day could accommodate, and the manuscript came first. When evaluating whether to add one more stressor to my list or skip a week, the blog took the hit. Fortunately, Alex Bledsoe had been kind enough to drop by with a lovely interview, so I did leave you in good hands last week.

For the record, not a lot went on last week, even Nathan Bransford bemoaned the lack of publishing news, and his links wrapped things up nicely.

The Google Book Settlement

Apparently, it was all the quiet before the storm, because YES! You guessed it, the Google Book Settlement is back in the news [insert evil Google laughter here]! Victoria Strauss at Writer Beware Blogs has a great summary with must read links on The Revised Google Book Search Settlement. If you really want the low-down, head over to Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America (SWFA) blog where you can download a podcast of the panel on the Google Book Settlement with Russell Davis, Karen Wester Newton, Charles Petit, Jay Lake, Christopher Kastensmidt, and Dan Gamber.

Now that I’ve had my Google Book Settlement fix for the week, let’s move on to the fun side of writing with NaNoWriMo (still in progress). It’s day 18 and I tweeted (and tweeted and tweeted and tweeted) for writers who were blogging about their NaNoWriMo experience to send me a link to their site. One did!

NaNoWriMo News and Links

Over at the Pop Syndicate, you can read Book Addict with Angela Wilson, where Angela gives a great run-down of what NaNoWriMo is and isn’t. She’s also blogging about the whole NaNoWriMo experience so read her other great posts. Good information and a fun read. Thanks for sending your link, Angela.

I did find out why no NaNoWriMo writers were answering my tweets when I read Lanetta J. Sprott’s post on Reaching the NaNo Goal. It seems that Twitter was one of the first things to go in order to make more time for novel writing.

Annlee Ellingson at Mots Justes (@motsjustes) tweeted this NaNo link that works for everyone no matter what kind of novel you’re writing! If you’re moving into the climax of your novel, you need to read NaNoWriMo Prep Elements of Act Three at The Dark Salon blog.

The Craft of Writing and Writing Techniques

While all that was a lot of fun, I really enjoyed my friend Peter Cooper’s experience. He’s not participating in NaNoWriMo, but he is using some NaNo philosophy in writing his second novel, The Weight of Souls. In his post, he talks about Driving Without Headlights. I love the title of his new novel and how Peter is always experimenting with new writing methods.

Of course, if you’re like me and found the seat of the pants writing style to be insufficient for your needs, Debbie Ridpath Ohi (@inkyelbows) tweeted this link for Ten Tips – Outline Your Way to a Better Novel.

Dry for story ideas? Build a novel from a fairy tale. Writer Unboxed gives you all the tips you need for Old Bones, New Flesh: Building a Novel from a Fairy Tale Concept by Juliet Marillier.

Jonathan Danz tweeted a link to this great piece of shareware, yWriter. So far, Jonathan is enjoying it, I haven’t tried it yet but will probably experiment as time allows.

While we’re talking about Jonathan, go visit his blog, Words and Coffee, and read his article on Writer Identity, Or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Process. A great post on the joy of writing.

Head over and visit my good friend Kelly Bryson at her new blog Book Readress where Kelly is reviewing books on writing. See her reviews where she shares what she’s learned from Stephen King On Writing and Steering the Craft by Ursula K. LeGuinn.

Looking for more of those tips to deal with pesky dialogue issues in your novels? Head over and visit Jessica Rosen’s Girl Meets Word blog for a super post on her Friday Forum: Dynamic Dialogue.

Author Lilith Saint Crow sent out this tweet about the Clockwork Storybook blog’s post on the five stages of decline for writers entitled Hard to Fly, Easy to Fall . . . It’s got some wonderful advice for both published and unpublished writers.

Author Michael Stackpole gives an interesting technique to help you become a better writer with his post Analyzing Writing.

Well, I’m feverishly working on my query synopsis, dreading the day when I have to start working on my actual synopsis for my query package when along comes this great tweet from Writer’s Digest on synopsis help with Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure.

If you’re interested in publishing news and the transitions currently inspired by ebooks and other changes in the book industry, Colleen Lindsay tweeted this link to the Idea Logical blog where you can find this informative post on Literary Agents and the Changing World of Trade Publishing.

Angie Ledbetter was the Rachelle Gardner’s guest blogger and she wrote the funniest post on Writerly Ailments and Hazards (WAAH). If you think you’re immune to the stressors of family life while writing, Angie will show you where you are wrong. She handles her subject with wit and grace, and also offers tips on combating these writerly ills.

OPEN FOR SUBMISSIONS

The Rose and Thorn e-zine is open to submissions and you can go to their spiffy new web site and click on submissions to see how to submit both prose and poetry.

MORE NIBBLES AND LINKS

Jane Friedman at Writers’ Digest is back with the Writers’ Digest Best Tweets for Writers.

While I was off slacking, Andy Shackcloth was busy gathering some great links for his Sunday Wash-up. Bookmark Andy’s page where you can find great articles and the best links that he can find on the Internet.

More great links can be had at Pimp My Novel every Friday. For those who missed it, here is last week’s post entitled Friday Plugs, Er, Round Up.

That’s it for this week, and I certainly hope I haven’t forgotten anyone, but just in case roll through the sidebar and visit a few of the folks there. I’ve added a few new links you might find interesting, and I will continue to update and add links as I wander across the Internet in search of next week’s lunch hour links for writers . . .

Have a great week!

About T. Frohock

Please visit my web site at: www.tfrohock.com
This entry was posted in Lunch Hour Links and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to lunch hour links for writers – 11/18/09

  1. lawrenceez says:

    Great stuff. I’m about to follow up some of the links now!

    My editing report should be available any time between late tomorrow and early next week.

  2. lawrenceez says:

    Exactly what I’m wondering. I’m at work now, but will call the person who set it up when I’ve finished, in about an hour. Can’t wait to get back o writing fiction again.

  3. lawrenceez says:

    The editor apparently does agree with one of the points I made when I read through the novel again. I haven’t received the report yet – am expecting the email any day now – but she did say that a lot of the action in my story takes part in the past through recollection. I noticed this straight away.

    I’m working on the story away from the document, making new ideas to deal with reducing the need for so much backstory.

    • Teresa says:

      Great, Lawrence! I know I’m wrestling with some of those same issues in the chapters I’m working on now. I want to include portions of backstory, but I don’t want to slow down the pacing. It’s a real balancing act. I’m really happy things are starting to move forward with your report.

  4. lawrenceez says:

    Hi, from what I can gather, it’s okay to focus on one back story early on and leave the other back story issues for later.

  5. adoruhbul says:

    Hey, I came across your blog and thought I’d leave a comment. I appreciate the links you left, I am writing a novel and can use all the help I can get. I have never written anything before, so this is a pretty big deal–going to need LOTS of editing. Likely going to have to hire an editor before even considering submission but links are nice.

    Amanda

    • Teresa says:

      Hi Amanda, thanks for stopping by!

      I thought it might be fun in 2010 to begin at the beginning so to speak and go through the writing process from page one with a post a week. Of course, I’ll be talking about techniques I use, and I know many people have different ideas on the best approach to constructing a novel. I’m hoping different people will comment on the posts, and I’ll see if I can find some writers who do things differently, who are willing to write a guest post from time to time.

Comments are closed.