lunch hour links for writers – week of 7/20/09

nom nom nom nom . . .

Good stuff this week, kiddies!

Writers connecting with writers in the best of sites, check out The Writer’s Chatroom. There is a forum, blogs, writing tips, and bi-weekly chats with published authors and writers aspiring for publication. Audrey Shaffer has great links and writing advice in a very user-friendly site. Check out their blog where Kim Richards talks about Books With Soundtracks.

Jane Smith talks about plagiarism in her post Anti-Plagiarism Day! on her blog How Publishing Really Works. A great place to get a head’s up in industry news.

If you’re not reading the newest writing blog on the block, Pimp My Novel, then you’re missing some great insider information on the publishing industry. Get yourself there and become informed. Just try not to get too depressed about the news.

In other industry news, Peter Cooper blogs about Parallel Imports, and Other Nightmares in the land down under. [Peter, I keep trying to comment on your posts, but your Google blog hates my WordPress open ID! Not sure what the hang-up is, but I’ll keep trying.]

Kelly asked recently about doing a post on how to know when you’ve over-edited. Jessica Faust at Bookends blogged about editing on her post Good Enough is Never Enough. Jodie Meadows took it one step further with her post I’ll Show You Why You’re So Much More Than Good Enough. Read both and check out those comments for some interesting ideas on how much editing should go into a novel before you decide you’re done.

Poor Kindle and Amazon just can’t seem to stay out of the news lately. First they’re being sued for broken screens caused by their own “protective cases,” then they slipped into their users’ accounts and deleted Orwell books that were downloaded without copyright “Law Firm Readying Class-Action Suit Against Amazon for Deleting Orwell Books from Users’ Kindles.” Personally, my favorite line from this article was:

“Edelson says he intends to argue that the recall infringes on consumers’ property rights. He will also argue that Amazon’s ability to delete books makes the Kindle less valuable to consumers, who believed they were purchasing a device that would allow them to store books forever.” [Emphasis mine.]

With the average life-span of any electronic media being five years, I didn’t know there were idiots who seriously believe they will be able to store a book on an electronic device forever. ‘Scuse me while I bang me head for a while, because the stupid just keeps coming . . .

In terms of anger over the incident, everyone is right, because what Amazon did was wrong. However, the thing that really stuns me is that no one is outraged over the copyright violation that precipitated the whole ordeal in the first place. I guess Amazon can sue the copyright violators. A trickle down effect, if you will.

Oh my, I slipped into a rant there. Terribly sorry. Back to links!

Go see Lynda Gail Alfano’s take on the synopsis in her post, Oh, No! (Gasp) – The Synopsis Approaches. Scroll down through the comments for a really cool Senryu on the synopsis by Judy.

Writing, writing, writing, that’s what we’re all here for, so check out Ursula K. LeGuin’s web site for a great set of essays About Writing.

Just for fun, you’ve got to read Maureen Johnson’s lighthearted and very true post on How to Write a Book.

Jonathan Danz really started something when he asked for a post on what keeps a writer going. Check out some posts with our favorite bloggers on what keeps them going with Peter Cooper’s Musings, Jonathan talks about The Search for Inspirado, my good friend Kelly Bryson talks about her writing dreams with her father on her post, Daddy Daughter Date, and Jennifer Neri does a little soul searching with her post, What am I?

Last, but certainly never least, drop by Edittorrent and find some succinct but useful tips on trimming unnecessary words from your manuscript at Edittorrent where Alicia talks about Over-modification.

That’s it for this week, but stay tuned to those tweets, because I’ll be twitting as I go through the week.

copyright 2009 Teresa Frohock

About Teresa Frohock

Please visit my web site at: www.teresafrohock.com
This entry was posted in Lunch Hour Links and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to lunch hour links for writers – week of 7/20/09

  1. cacklingscribe says:

    Hi Teresa,

    I checked my comment settings, you should be able to post. Maybe a temporary glitch?

    P.

    • Teresa says:

      I’m hoping it’s a temporary thing. I’ll try again tomorrow.

      Thanks for looking at it, Peter! You’ve had some great posts the last few days and I just wanted to pop in to your blog and say so.

      Teresa

  2. immortaldiva says:

    Hi, Teresa,

    I love your line about the “stupid just keeps coming”. Ah, so so true. It is, of course, all about the money, isn’t it?!

    - LG

    • Teresa says:

      Absolutely. But here is the problem: Person X sues Amazon.com/Kindle for the cracked case, then Person B sues Amazon.com for sneaking into their account and removing non-copyrighted titles. Next thing is that Amazon.com has to raise prices to meet the settlements, and the people who pay the price are buyers like you and I.

      Personally, I love Amazon.com, because I can find all the obscure titles that I like to read. The problem with mortar and brick book stores is that they usually only carry what is popular. This is fine for all the brainless sheep following the herd, but my reading tastes do not always mirror those of the general public.

      A good example is that I tried Greensboro, NC and Danville, VA bookstores to find a copy of Lisa Mannetti’s novel The Gentling Box. No one had it. Amazon has copies galore. At the bricks and mortars bookstores, you can find popular authors and titles that have proven selling records, but to find fresh talent, you have to go Amazon.

      Now that Amazon has become successful enough to draw the attention of our litigious society, I’m afraid the offerings there may par down to the bottom line of sales so they pay off their legal bills. We do ourselves no favors by suing for outrageous sums of money, not in the long run.

  3. rondad says:

    I love blogging about how to write a book, and in fact I used that delightfully humorous post you reference in my own. I also point out the differing styles of perfectionists and “TARLs”: http://profitablestorytelling.com/blog/writing/how-to-write-a-book/how-to-write-a-book-a-humorous-look-are-you-a-tarl-or-a-perfectionist-and-do-you-simile/

    Ronda Del Boccio

    • Teresa says:

      Hi Ronda, how nice of you to drop by!

      I read your article and I wonder, is there a cross between a TARL and a perfectionist? I think that’s where I would land. ;-) Great article, by the way.

      Have a great week and please visit us again sometime!
      Teresa

Comments are closed.